Cacao Nut Slice

This recipe isn’t my own. I’m not sure where it’s come from and who to credit, as my mum once emailed it to me and I’ve been making it every fortnight since! She still makes it regularly too as it’s such a healthy and delicious snack for at home or on the go. It’s kind of like a healthy crunchy muesli bar. It’s a staple snack in our house.
DISCLAIMER! The recipe below contains sugar. I know, I know… smack me on the wrist 😉 I’ve eliminated so much sugar from my diet that I really don’t panic about having 1/2 cup of it in this whole recipe. The slice takes about 2 weeks to eat so if I wanted to justify it, I could get my maths cap on and work out the tiny amount of sugar I’m consuming each day by eating one piece. But, I don’t care. It’s full of healthy nuts and seeds, and the carob and cacao powder pack a punch of nutrients and essential vitamins and minerals too. I eat cacao every day, and you should too! So here is another way to get it into you.
Cacao Nut Slice
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup cashews, chopped
  • 1/2 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup macadamias, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries*
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup carob powder
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar*
  • 125g butter*
Line a lamington pan with baking paper.
Combine all but the last 3 ingredients in a bowl. 
Place honey, sugar and butter in a medium saucepan and stir over heat until boiling. Simmer, and stir occasionally for 5 minutes. Pour it over the dry mix and combine well. Press mixture into the pan and bake at 180C for about 20 minutes or until browned. Let it cool in the pan before slicing into squares, rectangles, whatever shape you want!
Store in an airtight container in your cupboard. 
* Notes:
You can use sultanas instead of cranberries if you’re on a budget.
You could try using coconut sugar, but I’m yet to test this.
I use Nuttelex instead of butter as I’m dairy free, and sometimes I use half Nuttelex and half coconut oil. I’m not game enough to try 125g of coconut oil, as I’m suspicious it may make the slice too sloppy and fall apart. If you try it, let me know!
If you don’t have cacao and carob powder, you could use 3/4 cup of Milo as that’s what the original recipe calls for.
Leave a Reply

