Visual Veggies

Let’s talk veggies.
The above picture is from today’s produce shop with the hubby. I’ll probably duck out to the shops mid week to pick up a few odds and ends, but this is the bulk of our produce for the week. I should clarify those oranges will last longer than a week though – it was just cheaper to buy that many at once 😉
It might be obvious to some, but I’ll list what we have here:

  • 1 big ass box of oranges, fresh from a local orchard ($10! Bargain!)
  • 1 kilo bag of carrots (most of which is for a cashew, curry and carrot soup)
  • chunk of watermelon
  • 4 punnets of strawberries
  • 2 brown onions
  • 2 bunches of asparagus
  • 5 apples
  • bag of mushies
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 2 washed potatoes
  • 1 kilo bag of tomatoes
  • pack of baby spinach leaves
  • 7 limes
  • punnet of cherry tomatoes
  • bananas
  • 4 grapefruit
  • 2 avos
  • 1 zucchini
  • garlic
  • sweet potato
  • green capsicum
  • 3 corn cobs
  • some pumpkin
  • lettuce
I had a few stragglers from last week lurking in my fridge too, like a red capsicum and corriander etc.

I wanted to take a picture because I wanted a visual of how much produce we were eating a week. Is most of it green? Is it a lot? Is it not enough? Obviously there are variants. Like what meals I’m cooking for the week. And what’s on special. But it’s given me a general idea of how much fruit and veg 2.5 people (O doesn’t eat quite as much as we do!) eat in a week.
My thought’s are

  • It’s more than I thought
  • Not enough greens
  • Less fruit than I thought
  • Nice variety
Have you ever done this? Why not take an image of your weekly produce shop? Maybe it can motivate you and others to eat more fresh and colourful foods. Maybe you’re doing better than you thought!

Leave a Reply

